The Imo State House of Assembly has suspended six members over alleged unparliamentary activities.

Their removal was announced by the speaker, Rt. Hon. Paul Emeziem during the plenary today.

Chioma Jumbo Blog reports that the Assembly led by its speaker, Paul Emeziem, had an emergency seating on Thursday during which the announcement was made.

The Chief Press Secretary to the Speaker, Collins Osuji who spoke to our correspondent, said that, while the member representing Ideato-north state constituency, Arthur Egwim, was removed as the Chief Whip of the Assembly, Obinna Okwarra of Nkwerre state constituency was replaced.

According to the CPS, “six members were suspended today during the emergency seating.

“They include two PDP members who are the Minority Leader of the House, Anyadike Nwosu of Ezinnihitte state constituency, Philips Ejiogu who represents Owerri-North state constituency, and four other APC members who are Uche Ogbuagu of Ikeduru state constituency, Kennedy Ibeh of Obowo state constituency, Dominic Ezerioha of Oru-west state constituency and Onyemeachi Njoku of Ihitte-Uboma state constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *